Australia Day honours for RCH community members

Congratulations to members of the RCH community have been acknowledged in the Australia Day 2018 Honours List for contributions to paediatrics.

Prof Tony Holmes AO, craniofacial surgeon 

For distinguished service to medicine, particularly to reconstructive and craniofacial surgery, as a leader, clinician and educator, and to professional medical associations.

Adjunct Prof Agnes Bankier OAM, Chair of the RCH Human Research Ethics Committee

For service to medicine as a geneticist, and to medical education.

Leon Kempler AM

For significant service to the community through contributions to national cultural institutions, charitable, education and children’s medical foundations.

Prof Frank Oberklaid AM, Director of the Centre for Community Child Health

For significant service to medicine in the field of clinical paediatrics, child development, and public health policy as a researcher and academic.

Prof Suzanne Garland AO, microbiologist 

For distinguished service to medicine in the field of clinical microbiology, particularly to infectious diseases in reproductive and neonatal health as a physician, administrator, researcher and author, and to professional medical organisations.

Dr Roger Mee AO, former Director of Cardiac Surgery at RCH & Chief Cardiac Surgeon 1979-1992

For distinguished service to medicine as a cardiothoracic surgeon, through innovations in establishing new techniques in paediatric surgery, and as a leader and clinician.

To learn more on the awards, click here.

Comments are closed.

Previous post Next post